Youth advisory committee

The Youth Advisory committee is advising the IECSS project researchers and partners in their research activities over the 7 year duration of the project. We are committed to engaging with children and young people who identify with disabilities. In our research work we are interviewing adults about the processes that are required to access services for young people, we felt it was critical to have the perspective of young disabled people as we interpret our findings.

Our Youth Advisory committee was launch in October, 2018 at a Shaking the Movers/IECSS event, hosted at Carlton University by our partners at the Landon Pearson Centre. Materials developed for the event are available below.

We will meet with our Youth Advisory committee a minimum of once per year and as needed throughout the project.

Youth Advisory committee:

Zachary Abdalla
Bianca Batres
James Beatty
Lilyanne Bridge
Alex Bristow
Alyssa Burton
Nathan Chaulk
Kalea Davies
Nolan Dobbin
Gregory Doucet
Nicholas Hsu
Michael Khan
Alex Krneta
Logan Lariviere
Fatima Nafisa
Munashe Z. Nyenya
Charlotte Peddle
Grace Sweetman
Shyla-Rae Tanner
Madison Warren

Disability and Children’s Rights Information Sheets (pdf version)
Disablility and Children’s Rights Information Sheets (word version)

Prendergast, S. (2018). Disability Rights Information sheets in child friendly language. Prepared for Shaking the Movers/ Inclusive Early Childhood Service System project Youth Advisory Event, October, 13 and 14, 2018. IECSS: Toronto, ON. Accessed online: